Beginner questions that won't leave my mind

(edited)

Hi, I am absolute beginner and I'm almost 100% sure I will dedicate to creation of my tulpa, but I wanted some specific personal answers before I can commit to it fully.

I don't mean any offense by any means, already apologizing beforehand if it sounds mean to ask such questions.

I wanted a full concept to input in my brain of "What exactly is a tulpa"

1: Is it safe to assume it's like an alter ego of mine that will gain sentience after X time? (I still don't know how to address to my tulpa with proper respect, are they another person or another part of me,  since they need my mind to keep being alive)

2:is it safe for long term mental health to have a tulpa? (it always sounds so awesome to actually have one, but I keep being afraid my sanity could drop the more I get involved with it)

3:Which is the proper way to address to my tulpa to show proper respect to them (similar answer to question 1 can answer them both there if you want)

thanks for giving me attention, feel free to answer in any way you like!

edit:remember it's a personal question, answers can be subjective (or not, I am a beginner after all and I'm curious)

Edited by HoldenToledo
  • HoldenToledo changed the title to Beginner questions that won't leave my mind

1. It can be like that. In the classic sense of alter ego anyway.

I don't have experience with this other than recognizing it after my system was mature.

2. This is tricky because any practice that involves introspection and or meditation can amplify what's already there under the surface. In my experience, no. I believe it can be a trigger to expose mental illness though, maybe even a gentle way. They can also help with mental illness. My systemmates certainly helped me.

3. I doubt most headmates would just let you call them "hey you" for any length of time, you two will figure that out together. We started with temporary names.